Chairman’s 2020 Message

Statement by Greg Bellerby, Chair of the Jack and Doris Shadbolt Foundation

Jack and Doris Shadbolt created the foundation that bears their name with the intent of assisting and encouraging visual artists in the province of British Columbia. The VIVA Awards have been presented annually since 1988. The awards are exemplary in that there are no applications, rather, a selection committee from the art community selects the recipients.

The award acknowledges the value that artists contribute to our culture and the community. Jack being an artist and Doris a curator and writer, they understood the challenges faced by artists. They understood the financial demands of sustaining an art practice and the determination required to be successful. The award is a way for the community to honour and celebrate the creative individuals in our province.

2020 has been a year like no other. The Covid-19 pandemic meant that we could not present the awards at a public event as we normally do. Instead we will rely on celebrating the achievements of our VIVA Award recipients virtually. It is our hope that we will be able return to a public celebration in the future.

On behalf of the trustees of the Foundation I would like to congratulate this year’s recipients: Lucie Chan, Cindy Mochizuki, and Tania Willard. They join a long list of outstanding B.C. artists who have received VIVA Awards.

I would also like to thank this year’s jury for their thoughtful deliberations during the selection process. The generous donation of their time is always greatly appreciated. The jury members this year were Julian Hou, Allison Hrabluik, Hannah Jickling, Ben Reeves and Charlene Vickers.

2020 marks the first time we are collaborating in presenting the Max Wyman Award for Critical Writing. The award recognizes writers who have amassed a significant body of work. The Jack and Doris Shadbolt Foundation would like to congratulate Dorothy Woodend, this year’s recipient of the award. The award winner chooses a second award of a Banff Centre residency to an emerging writer; this year’s mentee is Paloma Pacheco.

Our congratulations to all the award recipients for 2020.