Criteria and Selection Process

A Committee consisting of arts consultant Merla Beckerman, former chair of the B.C. Arts Council, Yosef Wosk, and Max Wyman oversees the award.

Eligible subjects of criticism include the visual arts, architecture and design, theatre, literature, dance, music, film and television, as well as more general cultural commentary.  Admissible formats include commentaries in print, on air and on-line. Candidates must be either Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada, working primarily in B.C.

An independent jury of three individuals familiar with the critical writing community in the province selects the award recipients. Neither applications nor nominations are accepted as part of the selection process. Names of winners are not made public until the award ceremony.